Nadal breaks own world record: tournament winner for the 19th year in a row

By Jürgen Fritz, Mo 10. Jan 2022, Cover picture: Tennis TV-Screenshot

Rafael Nadal breaks his own world record, winning at least one ATP tournament every season for the 19th year in a row. In the final in Melbourne, the 35-year-old beat US-American Maxime Cressy 7-6, 6-3. This was the Spaniard’s 89th tournament victory. He won at least one ATP tournament every year from 2004 to 2022, 19 years non-stop. That has never happened before.

Next world record

In December, Nadal had already broken another world record of his own when he finished a year as one of the top ten players in the world for the 17th time in a row. Now the next record.

Years in a row with at least one tournament win in the Open Era since 1968:

  • Rafael Nadal: 19
  • Novak Djokovic: 16
  • Roger Federer: 15 (+3)
  • Ivan Lendl: 14
  • Jimmy Connors: 13 (+2)
  • Boris Becker: 12
  • Stefan Edberg: 12
  • Pete Sampras: 11 (+1)
  • Andre Agassi: 10 (+8)
  • John McEnroe: 9 (+4)
  • Björn Borg: 8

Melbourne Summer Set 2022 Final Highligths


Active support: Jürgen Fritz Blog (JFB) is completely independent and free of charge (no paywall). However, it costs money, time and a lot of work to be able to offer articles at this level regularly and permanently. If you would like to honour my work accordingly, you can do so by classic bank transfer to:

Jürgen Fritz, IBAN: DE44 5001 0060 0170 9226 04, BIC: PBNKDEFF, reason for payment: JFB. Or via  PayPal – 3 EUR – 5 EUR – 10 EUR – 20 EUR – 50 EUR – 100 EUR